One-hundred of Bruce and Grey counties’ most impressive post-secondary students received their $500 Bruce Power scholarships today.

The company, which launched its scholarship program in 2011, presented the students with their scholarship at a breakfast at the Bruce Power Visitors’ Centre on Aug. 9.

“Each year, it gets more difficult for our Sponsorship Committee to choose only 100 recipients from over 300 applications of students who live in Bruce, Grey and Huron counties,” said Len Clewett, Chief Nuclear Officer. “Bruce Power believes in the power of education – if we can provide even a small boost to a local student, it may help them excel at their studies and, hopefully, come back to the area to pursue their career, should they choose.”

The selection committee was comprised of 15 Bruce Power employees from a variety of departments and levels. The applications were reviewed with system-generated reference numbers to remove any name, location or other potential biases, and all personal information was removed to ensure anonymity.

See the full list of winners here.

Bruce Power will also award $20,000 to 10 students from the Saugeen and Nawash Unceded First Nations, through the Aboriginal Scholarship for Post-secondary Education Beyond-First Year.

About Bruce Power
Bruce Power operates the world’s largest operating nuclear generating facility and is the source of 30 per cent of Ontario’s electricity. The company’s site in Tiverton, Ontario, is home to eight CANDU reactors. Formed in 2001, Bruce Power is an all-Canadian partnership among Borealis Infrastructure Trust Management (a division of the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System), TransCanada, the Power Workers’ Union and The Society of Energy Professionals. A majority of Bruce Power’s employees are also owners in the business.

For further information, please contact:
John Peevers – 519-361-6583
Bruce Power Duty Media – 519-361-6161
For updated Bruce Power photos and b-roll video, please visit our Media Kit page.