Members of the community came through in a huge way for local mental health initiatives during the second annual #BreakTheSilence social media campaign.

By sharing the hashtag #BreakTheSilence thousands of times on Twitter and Facebook, people from across Canada showed their support for people who live with mental health issues by starting the conversation with their friends and family. Supporters included:

  1. City TV’s Kevin Frankish
  2. The Honourable Glenn Thibeault, Ontario Minister of Energy, MPP (Sudbury)
  3. The Honourable Tracy MacCharles, Ontario Minister of Government and Consumer Services, MPP (Pickering—Scarborough East)
  4. The Honourable Laura Albanese, Ontario Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, MPP (York South—Weston)
  5. The Honourable Helena Jaczek, Ontario Minister of Community and Social Services, MPP (Oak Ridges—Markham)
  6. The Honourable Kevin Daniel Flynn, Ontario Minister of Citizenship, MPP (Oakville)
  7. The Honourable Marie-France Lalonde, Minister of Commercial Safety and Correctional Services, MPP (Ottawa—Orléans)
  8. The Honourable Chris Ballard, MPP (Newmarket—Aurora)
  9. The Honourable Bob Chiarelli, Ontario Minister of Infrastructure, MPP (Ottawa West—Nepean)
  10. Lisa Thompson, MPP (Huron – Bruce)
  11. Jack Maclaren, MPP (Carleton – Mississippi Mills)
  12. John Fraser, MPP (Ottawa South)
  13. Soo Wong, MPP (Scarborough – Agincourt)
  14. Amrit Mangat, MPP (Mississauga—Brampton South)
  15. Granville Anderson, MPP (Durham)
  16. Joe Dickson, MPP (Ajax – Pickering)
  17. Bill Walker, MPP (Bruce – Grey – Owen Sound)
  18. Ben Lobb, MP (Huron Bruce)
  19. Gagan Sikand, MP (Mississauga Streetsville)
  20. Alaina Lockhart, MP (Fundy Royal)
  21. Sonia Sidhu, MP (Brampton South)
  22. Ruby Sahota, MP (Brampton North)
  23. Bev Shipley, MP (Lambton – Kent – Middlesex)
  24. Harold Albrecht, MP (Kitchener – Conestoga)
  25. Larry Miller, MP (Bruce–Grey–Owen Sound)
  26. John Nater, MP (Perth – Wellington)
  27. Debbie Jabbour, MLA, Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees (Peace River)

As well, MPP Bill Walker spoke about the campaign in the Ontario Legislature on May 4.

In turn, Bruce Power donated $84,000 to local mental health initiatives that will support community members who live with mental illnesses. The recipients include:

  • $25,000 to the Westover Treatment Centre’s Recovery Support Program, which helps people overcome addiction and other issues
  • $25,000 to Wounded Warriors
  • $23,000 to the Canadian Mental Health Association’s Grey Bruce branch for its Friends and Neighbours Club, Men’s Group and Ride Don’t Hide event
  • $11,000 to the We CARE Share event

“Our annual Break the Silence awareness campaign may be over, but we hope the dialogue created today continues,” said Cathy Sprague, Bruce Power’s Executive Vice President, Human Resources. “The interactions we saw online today show how important speaking about mental health issues is. Let’s all continue this dialogue between family members, friends and colleagues and break the silence around mental illness.”

In one day,the social media awareness campaign saw an estimated 10,000 tweets sent with the #BreakTheSilence hashtag and nearly 10,000 shares on the Break the Silence post on Bruce Power’s Facebook page.

About Bruce Power

Formed in 2001, Bruce Power is an electricity company based in Bruce County, Ontario. We are powered by our people. Our 4,200 employees are the foundation of our accomplishments and are proud of the role they play in safely delivering clean, reliable, low-cost nuclear power to families and businesses across the province. Bruce Power has worked hard to build strong roots in Ontario and is committed to protecting the environment and supporting the communities in which we live. Learn more at and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram and YouTube.

For further information, please contact:
John Peevers – 519-361-6583