Bruce Power’s Scholarship Committee has selected 100 post-secondary students to receive $50,000 in Bruce Power Scholarship Awards.

This year, 332 students submitted their applications electronically and the selections were narrowed down to 100 winners, all of whom were notified on July 26.

The winners, who live in Bruce, Grey or Huron counties, each receive a cheque for $500 to help further their post-secondary education.

“We thank all the students who applied for a scholarship this year, and we congratulate the winners,” said Duncan Hawthorne, President and CEO, Bruce Power. “We hope this money will help offset some of the many costs of being a student.”

The selection committee was comprised of 10 Bruce Power employees from a variety of backgrounds. The applications were reviewed with system generated reference numbers to remove any name, location or other biases, and all personal information was removed from the selection process.

The scholarship program was open to all students attending post-secondary school in the fall, studying in any discipline including trades apprenticeships and graduate students. Students were asked to answer four main questions and were ranked based on the information they conveyed in their answers.

About Bruce Power

Bruce Power operates the world’s largest operating nuclear generating facility and is the source of roughly 25 per cent of Ontario’s electricity. The company’s site in Tiverton, Ontario is home to eight CANDU reactors, each one capable of generating enough low-cost, reliable, safe and clean electricity to meet the annual needs of a city the size of Hamilton. Formed in 2001, Bruce Power is an all-Canadian partnership among TransCanada, Cameco, Borealis Infrastructure Management (a division of the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System) as well as the Power Workers’ Union and Society of Energy Professionals. A majority of Bruce Power’s 4,000 employees are also owners in the business.

For further information, please contact:

John Peevers                               519-361-6583       

24-hour Duty Media Officer        519-361-6161