The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has accepted a recommendation from its staff to grant Bruce Power five-year operating licences for the Bruce A and Bruce B generating stations.

“I am very pleased the Commission has accepted the CNSC staff recommendation and granted five-year licences for the Bruce A and Bruce B facilities and approval to load fuel into Bruce A Units 1 and 2 once we have progressed the project to the point where those reactors can be refuelled,” said Duncan Hawthorne, Bruce Power’s President and Chief Executive Officer.

The CNSC decision follows three public hearings, held on Dec. 11, 2008 at the Ajax Convention Centre in Ajax, Ont. and, Sept. 30, 2009 and Oct. 1, 2009 at the CAW Family Education Centre in Saugeen Shores. During those final two hearing days, Commissioners heard from several interested parties, including the County of Bruce. “Bruce County and Bruce Power have a strong and open relationship where Bruce Power reports to Bruce County Council and senior staff in front of the media each month on its safety, environmental and production performance and provides updates on projects and industry issues relevant to Bruce Power,” County of Bruce Warden Bill Goetz said.

From 30 days of the hearing the decision was made to approve Bruce Power’s license.


About Bruce Power

Bruce Power is a partnership among Cameco Corporation, TransCanada Corporation, BPC Generation Infrastructure Trust, a trust established by the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System, the Power Workers’ Union and The Society of Energy Professionals.

Further information

Steve Cannon                                    519-361-6559       

24-hour Duty Media Officer        519-361-6161