Applications open for Bruce Power’s post-secondary scholarship program

Applications for Bruce Power’s annual post-secondary scholarships are now open and students from Bruce, Grey and Huron counties are eligible to apply before June 16.

Bruce Power will award $500 to 100 successful applicants who are pursuing post-secondary education or a trade, for a total of $50,000 in scholarships.

“Investing in local youth is important to Bruce Power, so we are thrilled to support our communities’ future as they pursue their education,” said John Peevers, Bruce Power’s Director of Community and Media Relations, and Economic Development. “This annual scholarship program has a long-term impact, and it is our hope these students will bring their education and experience back to the Bruce site to play a role in delivering clean and reliable nuclear power to Ontarians, and cancer-fighting medical isotopes across the globe.”

There are 40 scholarships allocated for students enrolled full-time in a program leading to a university degree, while 35 are for students enrolled in community or technical colleges. There are also 15 scholarships allocated for self-identified diverse populations in any type of post-secondary studies; this includes persons with disabilities, Indigenous (First Nations, Inuit or Métis) or visible minorities. An additional 10 scholarships are for students with special considerations (mature students, Crown wards, first generation students, graduate students, etc.) in any type of post-secondary studies.

The applications are open from May 15-June 16, and scholarship recipients will be notified by July 15. All applicants must read the eligibility requirements and complete the online form to be considered.

In addition, Bruce Power is providing $50,000 in elementary and secondary school awards to students in Bruce, Grey and Huron counties. At the secondary level, two graduates per participating school will be chosen for Women in Trades and Future Innovator Awards, each worth $500. The Women in Trades Award is presented to the most deserving female student taking courses in design and technology, who is pursuing a career in the skilled trades. If no student is doing so, it will go to a student pursuing engineering. The Future Innovator Award will recognize students who have achieved high academic results, demonstrated a passion for and show promise in the areas of science, technology, engineering or math, and studying this area of specialty at the post-secondary level.

Bruce Power will also provide $100 per elementary school for Grade 8 Science and Technology Awards. The winner will be a top student who has excelled in the subject of science, who demonstrates leadership in the classroom setting, and who is a diligent student, turning in work on time and completed to the best of their abilities.

These awards are administered by individual schools and do not require applications to Bruce Power. Bruce Power also has several scholarship opportunities for local Indigenous youth, including a partnership with Indspire, where Bruce Power will present thousands more in scholarships for local Indigenous communities through the Building Brighter Futures Indigenous Post-Secondary Award, for local Indigenous students who have completed at least one year of post-secondary education or apprenticeship programs. Learn more about our Indigenous scholarships here.

About Bruce Power

Bruce Power is an electricity company based in Bruce County, Ontario. We are powered by our people. Our 4,200 employees are the foundation of our accomplishments and are proud of the role they play in safely delivering clean, reliable nuclear power to families and businesses across the province and life-saving medical isotopes around the world. Bruce Power has worked hard to build strong roots in Ontario and is committed to protecting the environment and supporting the communities in which we live. Formed in 2001, Bruce Power is a Canadian-owned partnership of TC Energy, OMERS, the Power Workers’ Union and The Society of United Professionals. Learn more at and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, TikTok and YouTube.